Different committees of NACCED

      Comments Off on Different committees of NACCED

The NACCED which stands of National Association of County Community and Economic Development was established back in 1978 as an affiliate to the NACo (National Association of Counties). The reason behind the establishment of this organization was to develop the county government practitioners technically. These practitioners administer the affordable housing and community development programs that are funded federally and these programs benefit the low and moderate income households.

NACCED assists the counties which receives direct assistance from Department of HUD’s (Housing and Urban Department’s) Community Planning and Development programs by providing the information as well as important training. The CDBG (Community Development Block Grant), HOME (HOME Investment Partnerships) and ESG (Emergency Solutions Grant) also come under these programs. When it comes to budgetary, regulatory or programmatic issues relevant to community development or affordable housing the NACCED acts as a voice in Washington.for related information, visit : https://www.hudexchange.info/programs/cdbg-entitlement/

Different committees of NACCED

NACCED is composed of five standing communities which include Community Development committee, Housing committee, Economic Development committee, Program Support and Education committee, Membership committee. Each of these five committees is chaired by the representative of the regular member county. Any member of NACCED can be a part of these committees. If you are interested in becoming a part of any committee then you can call the chair or any listed member or even the national office. You can get the updated listing of chairs and vice chairs and other members in membership directory. click here for more details,

In addition to the above five committees, there is one more Nominating committee comprised of three persons who are appointed by the President. The appointment is done at least four months before the Annual Business Meeting. As per the tradition, the past President serves as the chair of this committee and the other two members are from the Board of Directors.